Mayan Astrology 101

September 5, 2022

Mayan astrology, a captivating and intricate system, has been practiced for thousands of years by the Mayan civilization. This ancient Mesoamerican culture, which thrived in the region now known as Mexico and Central America, was renowned for its advancements in astronomy, mathematics, and architecture. Their complex understanding of the cosmos and celestial bodies influenced their astrology, leading to a unique system that is still practiced today. This article will delve into the basics of Mayan astrology, exploring the Mayan calendar, the significance of the Tzolk'in, and the characteristics of the 20 day signs.

The Mayan Calendar

"The Maya Calendar: An Archetypal Structure of Reality" Out Now!!!

Click to get your copy, and discover the wisdom of the Maya Calendar!
Mayan Day T-Shirts

The cornerstone of Mayan astrology is the Mayan calendar, which is composed of three separate but interconnected cycles: the Tzolk'in, the Haab, and the Long Count. The Tzolk'in is a 260-day sacred calendar that forms the basis of Mayan astrology. The Haab, a 365-day solar calendar, is used to track the agricultural and ceremonial cycles. The Long Count is a linear count of days since the Mayan creation date, which is believed to be August 11, 3114 BCE.

The Tzolk'in: The Sacred Cycle

Central to Mayan astrology is the Tzolk'in, which is created by combining two cycles: a 13-day numerical cycle and a 20-day sign cycle. This combination results in a 260-day calendar, with each day represented by a unique combination of a number (from 1 to 13) and a day sign.

The 20 day signs, also known as "nawales" or "lords," are derived from animals, plants, or natural elements, each representing specific energies and attributes. The 13 numbers symbolize the cosmic and spiritual forces that influence human lives. When combined, these elements form the basis of an individual's Mayan birth chart, which offers insight into their personality, destiny, and purpose in life.

Check out our NEW SERIES "Secrets of the Maya"

With Maya Expert Dr. Jose Jaramillo (Click the Video)

The 20 Day Signs: Cosmic Energies

Each day sign in Mayan astrology carries unique qualities, which are believed to influence the individuals born under that sign. Here is a brief overview of the 20 day signs and their associated characteristics:

  1. Imix (Crocodile): The source of life, Imix symbolizes fertility and creativity.
  2. Ik (Wind): Representing communication and intelligence, Ik is associated with the breath of life.
  3. Akbal (Night): The mysterious and intuitive Akbal embodies the essence of dreams and the subconscious.
  4. K'an (Seed): K'an represents growth, development, and the potential for transformation.
  5. Chicchan (Serpent): The powerful and passionate Chicchan is a symbol of vitality and life force.
  6. Cimi (Death): Associated with transformation and rebirth, Cimi represents change and new beginnings.
  7. Manik (Deer): Manik embodies balance, grace, and diplomacy, symbolizing harmony and healing.
  8. Lamat (Rabbit): Representing abundance and fertility, Lamat is associated with beauty and artistry.
  9. Muluc (Water): The fluid and adaptable Muluc symbolizes emotions, purification, and spiritual connection.
  10. Oc (Dog): Loyal and steadfast, Oc represents friendship, guidance, and protection.
  11. Chuen (Monkey): Known for its creativity and playfulness, Chuen symbolizes spontaneity and artistic expression.
  12. Eb (Road): Eb signifies life's journey, representing wisdom, travel, and personal growth.
  13. Ben (Reed): A symbol of stability and leadership, Ben embodies strength and authority.
  14. Ix (Jaguar): Ix represents the spiritual realm, intuition, andthe mysteries of the universe.
  15. 15. Men (Eagle): The visionary Men symbolizes freedom, ambition, and the ability to rise above challenges.
  16. Cib (Vulture): Representing wisdom, Cib embodies ancestral knowledge and spiritual growth.
  17. Caban (Earthquake): The transformative Caban signifies movement, evolution, and the need for change.
  18. Etznab (Mirror): Symbolizing reflection and truth, Etznab represents clarity and self-awareness.
  19. Cauac (Storm): Cauac embodies renewal and purification, symbolizing the cleansing power of storms.
  20. Ahau (Sun): The illuminating Ahau represents enlightenment, spiritual growth, and the fulfillment of destiny.

Discovering Your Mayan Birth Chart

To determine your Mayan birthday go to our home page  and enter your birthday into our calculator. This combination will reveal your personal nawal, offering insights into your personality, strengths, and life purpose.

Mayan astrology goes beyond just the day sign and number, as other factors, such as the trecena (a 13-day period) and the position of Venus, also play a role in shaping an individual's destiny.


Mayan astrology is an ancient and complex system, deeply rooted in the culture and wisdom of the Mayan civilization. Its unique combination of day signs and numbers creates a rich tapestry of energies and attributes, which can offer valuable insights into an individual's life path and purpose. As you explore this fascinating astrological tradition, you may discover a deeper connection to the cosmos and a greater understanding of your place in the universe.

Want to know more about the Maya Calendar?

Support me on Patreon!

New Arrivals




Showing the single result

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram